You, sir, are an idiot. No, not for the whole 'N' word thing, because let us all be honest for a moment, most men under the age of 40 have at one time or another called a buddy by that, regardless of race.
Sorry, rap music, you commercialized it, and in so doing, desensitized most of us of the age to have listened to you back when you were, you know, relevant. So, white, black, Asian, Aleutian, you name it, guys of a certain age and social standing (ie, not running for an office, nor working for a police/fire department) have used the 'N' word.
Strangely enough (now, apologies to the Black Caucus, the inestimable Revs. Jesse Jackson, Al Sharpton, etc), now it's a term of collegial respect. Most white guys I know have as much if not more respect for black guys who are as hard working and successful as they. And here's where I'm going to be classist, not racist. The main reason they have that respect? Because, well, you see, how do I put this? Brothers are cooler.
Not because successful brothers have overcome more to get to where they are. (Thanks Cosby Show! You totally screwed my opinion of the "Black Plight.") Really, it's because black guys are cooler. They get away with more in fashion, are most often better natural athletes, and dance better than white guys. Granted, these are sweeping stereotypes, but when I get labeled an obvious Italian because I'm a good cook, passionate individual, and like nice shoes, I take the stereotype in a complimentary fashion.
So, black guys, take note: The white folk think you all are damn cool.
No, my John Meyer note is this:
John, you were dating Jennifer Aniston and ended it. You, sir, are obviously an idiot.
Wednesday, February 10, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment